Have a question about the rules of Pugmire, Monarchies of Mau, or Fetch Quest? We keep the most frequently-asked questions here for easy reference! You can ask more questions on the official Pugmire forum.
You can also download the rules for Fetch Quest right here!
PUGMIRE and MONARCHIES OF MAU
Advantage and Disadvantage
Q: Can you have multiple advantages or disadvantages? For example, if my character is in a good tactical position, and she also has a trick that grants her advantage, does she get advantage twice?
A: No. Advantage and disadvantage are binary: You either have it or you don't. Think of it like "I have the advantage" or "I'm at a disadvantage."
Q: Do advantage and disadvantage cancel each other out?
A: Yes. If you're in a position where your character has both advantage and disadvantage, you make a normal roll instead.
Armor and Weapons
Q: How does armor work if you don't have the appropriate trick?
A: The dog can't wear the armor to gain any benefit. In other words, her defense doesn't change, even if she's wearing armor. The Guide might impose additional penalties, if he desires.
Q: What about weapons?
A: Any character can use simple weapons, but only those with the Simple Weapon Aptitude trick can add their proficiency bonus. A character using a martial weapon without the Martial Weapon Aptitude trick always rolls at a disadvantage. Characters cannot use exotic weapons unless they have the Exotic Weapon Aptitude trick.
Q: Are ratters supposed to have Martial Weapon Aptitude? The character pictured has a rapier.
A: Whoops! Yes, they are supposed to have Martial Weapon Aptitude.
Character Creation and Advancement
Q: What dog breeds can I play? The breed I want to play isn't in the right section.
A: Pugmire is designed to be a system that you can easily customize to your taste. You can play any breed of dog and assign her to one of the six game Breeds. If you don't agree with what game Breed we've put a particular breed of dog in, feel free to change it in your game! Game Breeds are purely a mechanical development, and have very little impact on the Pugmire world.
Q: When I advance, can I take tricks outside my calling or breed?
A: No. Where the text says "take a new calling, breed, or aptitude trick," you can only take tricks within your calling or breed. The book does have optional rules to allow cross-calling tricks, however -- see Pugmire, "Cross-Calling Tricks," p. 168.
Ability Checks, Attack Rolls, and Saving Throws
Q: I have a trick that gives me benefits on ability checks. Does it also work for attacks and/or damage rolls?
A: No. Ability checks are separate from attack rolls, and benefits for one kind of die roll do not carry over unless specified. See Pugmire, "Three Different Kinds of Rolls," pp. 86-87.
Q: If my Guide allows cross-calling tricks, and I take a spellcasting trick, how do I calculate spell slots?
A: If you take a trick that allows you to cast spells, you are considered a "spellcaster" by the magic rules. Calculate spell slots accordingly -- count all your character levels, not just levels after you take the trick.
Q: And I only add the Constitution modifier to my spell slots once, right? Not each level?
A: Ah, that's actually an error. It should be two plus your Constitution modifier each level. It’s correct in Monarchies of Mau, though!
Q: The spell Expeditious Retreat (Pugmire p. 109) allows you to move further as a bonus action, but the caster is using their bonus actions each round to maintain concentration on the spell, and can't use it to move. So how does this work?
A: Whoops, you caught us! It should be spending a reaction to take another move, not a bonus action.
Q: Given the Voice (Monarchies of Mau p. 82) says a Minster should get 3 basic spells and 2 1st level spells, but Malcolm Maincoon von Cymric has Command, Charm Person and Healing Word. Is that intentional?
A: Ouch, that’s another error. Swap “Command” with “Animal Friendship.”
Q: Are missions completed by defeating challenges, or is it a separate thing?
A: Missions not completed by defeating challenges are resolved in lieu of defeating a challenge.